gistofthegrist

one-off at the wrist

Reading list

Way back in January 2013 I put together a list of books to read this year. So far I’m doing pretty lousy as only the first on the list is done. However I have made time to read and quite by chance I have found some really good titles.

Read:

  • The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon
  • The Tenant – Roland Topor
  • Communion Town – Sam Thompson
  • Then – Julie Myerson
  • The Lighthouse – Alison Moore

All seem to have rememberance and urban/travel at their heart. I also started to read as I thought it would be my cup of tea, but gave up 1/3 the way

  • The Existential Detective – Alice Thompson
Debord-Jorn-Copenhague-1957

DEBORD: Instructions diversion

The biggest change to my reading habits from when I was younger is that nowadays I will give a book a few chapters and if it doesn’t grab me in the way expected then it gets ditched and I’m onto the next book. Life is too short to struggle through a book just to feel you have given it the fairest chance.

I have just started The Gone-Away World by Nick Harkaway and have these books ready to go:

  • The Secret History of Moscow – Ekaterina Sedia
  • The Waves – Virginia Woolf
  • Paris Peasant – Aragon
  • The Mezzanine – Nicholson Baker
  • The Year of the Death of Ricardo Reis – Jose Saramago

All apparently ‘experimental’ just the way I like them. How experimental I will soon find out.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Reading list

  1. Michael Hampton on said:

    the “existential detective” is a jumped up tautology

Leave a Reply

RunTheTube

Running the entire tube network to raise money for Alzheimer's Research UK and War Child

Big American Night

The Notebook of James A. Reeves

io9

one-off at the wrist

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

The Woodring Monitor

one-off at the wrist

SFF Chronicles

one-off at the wrist

one-off at the wrist

Jacket Mechanical

one-off at the wrist

Discovering London

one-off at the wrist

one-off at the wrist

TextOfTheDay

one-off at the wrist

